Four of state’s lawmakers join challenge

Kansas Republicans plan to join objections to Electoral College certification in support of President Trump's claims of election fraud.


State News

January 5, 2021 - 9:22 AM

U.S. Sen. Roger Marshall Photo by (Sherman Smith/Kansas Reflector)

TOPEKA — Four Kansas Republicans who will be members of the new Congress plan to join objections to Electoral College certification Wednesday in an effort to bolster President Donald Trump’s claims of election fraud that allegedly contributed to President-elect Joe Biden’s victory in November.

U.S. Sen. Roger Marshall, U.S. Reps. Ron Estes, Tracey Mann and Jake LaTurner, who all endorsed Trump’s re-election, have announced their intent to support Trump’s quest to overturn the election by first delaying the process in which Congress counts Electoral College votes and certifies the winner of the presidential races.

In the Kansas delegation, Republican U.S. Sen. Jerry Moran and Democratic U.S. Rep. Sharice Davids have declined to join a campaign to deflate the 306-232 Electoral College advantage held by Biden. In late November, Moran said there was “every indication” Biden would become president Jan. 20.

July 5, 2022
June 30, 2022
June 13, 2022
December 16, 2020