Kansas confirms 18 cases; closes casinos

Universities close campuses; switch to online-only



March 17, 2020 - 4:03 PM

Photo by Theodore Parisienne for New York Daily News/TNS

TOPEKA, Kan. (AP) — Kansas has at least 18 confirmed cases of the coronavirus as the pandemic continues to spread in the state, officials said Tuesday.

Health officials reported the first cases in Douglas County, home to the University of Kansas; Miami County, south of the Kansas City metropolitan area; and Ford County, in southwest Kansas. 

They reported two more in Johnson County in the Kansas City area, bringing the total in the state’s most populous county to 10. Its neighbor, Wyandotte County, had two new cases, in addition to the only infection resulting in death in Kansas so far. Franklin County in eastern Kansas and Butler County outside of Wichita each have recorded a case.

July 10, 2020
July 10, 2020
July 2, 2020
July 1, 2020