Elsmore Ruritans honored with awards, club to host district meeting


February 1, 2019 - 3:59 PM

Elsmore Ruritan Club member Darla Henderson, center, receives a 2018 Ruritan National Tom Downing Award for longtime service to Ruritan, from Ruritan National Treasurer David Thompson, far left, and Middle America District Governor Mark Warren. Pictured far right is Darla's husband Eddie Henderson, who will celebrate 40 years as an Elsmore club member this year. Thompson, from Dinwiddie, Va., represented Ruritan National, based in Dublin, Va., at the Middle America District convention in November. COURTESY PHOTO

ELSMORE — Twenty members of Elsmore Ruritan Club and one guest met Monday at Elsmore Methodist Church for a carry-in dinner. Officers for 2019 are Brenda Boyle, president; Sharon Henderson, vice president; Clara Cunningham, secretary; Hellen Welch, treasurer; and Ed Henderson, Dick Fewins and Karen Price, board of directors.

Plans were made to host the Zone 1, 2, 3 meeting of Middle America Ruritan District 37 on March 19. The Elsmore club is the largest of the 12 district clubs. 

The Elsmore club received the district’s 2018 Ruritan Club of the Year award at the district convention in November. Darla Henderson, an Elsmore club member since 1995, was honored by the district with a Tom Downing Award. She has served both as a club officer and district officer for several years.

June 9, 2020
June 3, 2020
April 7, 2020
March 27, 2020